Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home3/yag2018/public_html/wp-includes/pomo/plural-forms.php on line 210
 State Holiday List 2017 – Charuchandra College


State Holiday List 2017


Birthday of Swami Vivekananda 12th January Thursday
Birthday of Netaji 23rd January Monday
Republic Day 26th January Thursday
Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami] 1st February Wednesday
Good Friday & Birth day of Dr.B.R. Ambedkar 14th April Friday
** Bengali New Year’s Day 15th April Saturday
May Day 1st May Monday
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore 9th May Tuesday
Id-Ul-Fitar 26th June Monday
Independence Day 15th August, Tuesday
** Id-Ud-Joha 2nd September Saturday
Mahalaya 19th September Tuesday
Mahasaptami 27th September Wednesday
Mahaastami 28th September Thursday
Mahanabami 29th September Friday
** Vijaya Dasami 30th September Saturday
Birthday of Gandhiji 2nd October Monday
Lakshmi Puja 5th October Thursday
Kalipuja 19th October Thursday
** Birthday of Guru Nanak 4th November Saturday
Christmas Day 25th December Monday


Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act.

01. In the year 2017, the following festivals/ occasions fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N.I.Act and hence have not been included in the list of Holidays:

i) Doljatra 12th March Sunday
ii) Muharram 1st October Sunday

02. The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. [**] is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

03. General Instructions as laid down below in this Notification No. 5603-F[P2], dated 27.10.16 are to be followed in case of Muslim Festivals.

No. 5604-F(P2). Dated: 27.10.2016.

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 [XXVI of 1881], read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub[l] dated the 8th June, 1957 the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2017.

1. Yearly closing of Bank Account 1st April Saturday

Note: The Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday including Treasuries, Sub-Treasuries shall remain open on the 1st April ,2017 which has been declared as public Holiday under N.I. Act, under this Notification.

No. 5605-F(P2). Dated: 27.10.2016.

The Governor is pleased to notify that on the following days during the year 2017, which are not declared to be public Holidays, the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed.

Shivaratri 24th February Friday
Day after Doljatra [Holi] 13th March Monday
Birth day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt [for Darjeeling District only] 13th July Thursday
** Janmastami 14th August Monday
Mahasasthi of Durgapuja 26th September Tuesday
Additional day in connection with Durgapuja 3rd October Tuesday
4th October Wednesday
Additional day for Lakshmipuja 6th October Friday
Additional day in connection with Kalipuja 20th October Friday
** Additional day in connection with Kalipuja & Bhatridwitya 21st October Saturday
** Fateha-Dwaz-Daham 2nd December Saturday